You’ve created your survey and decided to share your survey online, only to realize that you used the wrong image. You quickly change the image and share your content again. But, you still see the old image. How is this possible and what does it mean to ‘clear the cache’?
Social media platforms use a system called caching. Caching means that the meta data of your content is saved for around 30 days, although this time can vary between the different platforms. Social media platforms save this content to decrease the loading time of the different pages and therefore increase the experience for the user, scrolling through their social media.
But, how can you make sure that if you make a change to your content, the right version shows? You can do this by clearing the cache from the platform you’re using. Below, you can find the websites where you can clear your Facebook cache, Twitter cache and LinkedIn cache. After you’ve done this, the last version of your content will show online.
LinkedIn: Post Inspector
Twitter: Card Validator
So, don’t forget to clear the cache after you’ve made some changes, otherwise the latest version of your content will not show online.